September 13th marked a very important day in the quest for Collective Bargaining Agreement implementation in Nyanza Branch and to the KMPDU fraternity as a whole as Siaya County officially inaugurated the CBA implementation and monitoring Committee.

This is the last of 6 Counties in Nyanza Branch and the committee has now embarked on the enormous task of monitoring and fast-tracking the actual implementation.

The meeting was chaired by Siaya County Secretary Mr Joseph Ogutu and attended by CECMs of Health Mrs Dorothy Owino, Governance and Administration Mr Dismus Wakla, Finance and Economic Planning Mr Richard Mungla, Water Mr George Rubik, CEO Public Service Board of Siaya, Chief Officer Health, Dr Omondi Owino and Human Resource directors.

The KMPDU team was led by the national secretary-generalal Dr Ouma Oluga, Nyanza Branch chairman Dr Osuri Kevin, Secretary Dr Lameck Omweri, Treasurer Dr Peter Morebu, CLOs Dr Ahomo Okech and Dr Hellen Ondeng.

The parties agreed to hasten the full implementation of the CBA and in particular singled out promotions, training and bolstering of KMPDU members rights as enshrined in the 2017 CBA as well as NHIF comprehensive cover whose cabinet paper presentation is already slated for next week.

They further resolved to work closely and enhance cooperation to ensure that service delivery is boosted whilst adhering to good labour practices.

Detailed aspects as singled in the CBA implementation matrix were tasked to specific officers and departments for relay in the next CBA meeting scheduled for the morning of 4th October 2019.

The CBA was signed by all 47 County Governments to end the 100 days-long doctors strike in 2017 and spells out the terms of engagement between health workers and the employer to better service delivery.